10 Horror Movies That Will Scare Your Kids To Death

The Scarlet Numbers 5.23.12

Hello world. Horror movies hold a special place in my heart. When I was young my mother used to take my brother and I to the video store and let us pick out any movies that we wanted . We would always go straight to the horror section and try to find a horror movie that we’d had seen…..and trust me…..we had almost seen them all.

I believe that all children should watch horror movies, because when you get older movies really don’t have the same effect as when you’re a kid. Perhaps I’m just numb from watching practically every horror movie ever made – but horror movies just don’t scare me like they used to.

Before I begin, let me quickly say these movies are in no particular order. I’m not going to spend all day deciding whether I liked Leprachaun 1 better than Jaws 2. I had a lot of trouble making this list because some of these movies are awesome beyond words and some of them have had their image completely ruined by bad sequels. However, I believe all of these movies are worth watching at least once…

CHILD’S PLAY

“Addeee—dewy—-dambella—–give me the power I beg of you!”

I’ve seen the first two Child’s Play movies countless times. They were just so scary to me as a kid. I remember seeing a commercial for Child’s Play 3 and I begged my father to take me to see it in theatres. He finally did. I loved it…until years later when I realized it would be the last “half-way decent” Child’s Play movie. Oh well. It was a good trilogy. I think one of the scariest scene ever captured on film was the very first time that Chucky became alive and bit the living crap out of Andy’s arm. Just. Plain. Awesome.

Critters

To be completely honest, I really don’t remember much about this movie except that it providing a lot of decent sequels and it certainly didn’t suck.

DOLLS

Maybe this movie is the reason why I never played with dolls. This is another one I’m going to have to rewatch then realize I probably should have never blogged about it.

Ghoulies

I loved this movie. In these movies rebellious teenagers would experiment with witchcraft which would always cause the ghoulies to arise and cause havoc. If I’m not mistaken the sequel for ghoulies was just about as good as the original.

“RAAAARRRR!!! LOL!”

Doesn’t this guy kind of look like Rhizar from Ninja Turtles 2?

Have I mentioned yet that Ghoulies in a freaking awesome movie?

GREMLINS
“Surprise motherfucker!”
The first thing that comes to mind is the kitchen scene where the Gremlin get stuffed in the microwave and explodes. This is one of those movies that I always loved. In fact my mother told me that this was the first horror movie I ever watched and I watched it at the age of 3. Maybe that explains why I’m so messed up in the head. The sequel to this movie was good, but it just wasn’t scary like the first one. The first one was just evil. My only complaint about this movie is there’s a Santa spoiler in it, which is a shame because I believe that all children under the age of 5 should be watching movies like this. (This probably explains why I don’t have any children lol.)
Because I killed them all.
JAWS
There’s one scene in the movie Jaws 2 that will forever haunt my tortured little soul. It’s when a guy gets his arm bit off by Jaws. I just remember the look of agony on his face as blood sprayed everywhere. Complete. Horror.
LEPRACHAUN
Okay, now we’re getting into the 90’s flicks with 1993’s Leprechaun. The first movie was a classic…and then these movies just got worse and worse until leprechaun was “in the hood.” It’s a good thing I never saw that one.
FRIDAY THE 13TH
Jason Vorhees is to horror films what Elvis Presley is to music. In fact, I don’t think that I’ve ever seen a single Friday the 13th that I didn’t enjoy. I even liked Jason X. lol
Did you know that Friday the 13th in the bestselling franchise of horror movies! I think it’s well deserved. Good job Jason, you’re doing some good things for this world. Keep doing what you do best. Killing everyone.
Friday The 13th
There is not enough time in the day for me to explain how much I love Freddy. He’s basically my role model. I strive to creep into everyone’s heads and kill them with an awesome glove. Doesn’t’ everyone? A lot of people didn’t like this new Freddy remake, but I loved it. I thought they did a good job re-creating the story and I hope to see more movies coming in the future.
THE RING
If ANYONE comments about “how the Japanese version” of this movie was better than the remake I’m going to kick you in your Japanese loving balls. FUCK the Japanese version. This version is where it’s at. When this movie first came out I watched it like 10 times in a row. Wow, looking back I’m kind of embarrassed to say that.
TO BE CONTINUED…

About thescarletnumbers

Journalist.
This entry was posted in Movies, New Blogs, Top 10 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 10 Horror Movies That Will Scare Your Kids To Death

  1. fadhlanmahbob says:

    NIce one! I grew up watching all those horror movies..haha..but i haven’t seen Leprachaun and Ghoulies. Thanks for the heads up! now I know what movies I’m going to watch this weekend

Leave a Reply

